a note i left to meredith this afternoon

(with all appropriate apologies to william carlos williams)

THIS IS JUST TO SAY

i have smoked
your cigarettes
that you left here

which you
bought yourself
for like eight dollars

Forgive me
they were so delicious
and my tobacco,
so dry

Although not everything I have done lately is derivative claptrap, all I am posting tonight is. I’m lonely and the vastness of the internet is doing me no favors. It seems to be a night for watching Brother Cadfael and knitting and maybe falling asleep on the couch. Wish me luck.

Leave a Reply

